Resources

FREE DOWNLOADS

Based on my research and work with expats in transition, I developed these tools and resources to help ensure your next move is A Great Move. Here you’ll find:

A Checklist to help you manage every phase of the move, so that you can make the most of the experience and thrive in your new home.

• A Self-Assessment Tool to help you understand how your personal characteristics affect the way you adapt to changes in life circumstances.

• A Tip Sheet to help you make a smooth transition and maintain your sanity in the process.

Can’t find what you’re looking for? Check out my blog.

Looking for more help? Get in touch – complete the online intake questionnaire or contact me directly for a free 30 minute consultation.

 

USEFUL LINKS

This is a list of my favorite resources that can assist you with every stage of a move, from the initial decision, to planning and preparing, to managing the logistics and, last but not least, settling in and creating your new home. The list is by no means exhaustive, so please feel free to recommend sites that you think should be included!

Expat Portals

News, information, destination guides, expat interviews, blog listings, job listings and other information on living and working abroad – both location-specific and general.

Expats blog  http://www.expatsblog.com

Easy Expat  http://www.easyexpat.com

Expat Exchange  http://www.expatexchange.com

Expatica  http://www.expatica.com

Just Landed  https://www.justlanded.com

Expat Focus  http://www.expatfocus.com

Expat Forum  http://www.expat.com

Globiana  http://globiana.com/

Expat Blogs

Below are some listings of expat blogs, usually classified by location.

Expat Blog  http://www.expat-blog.com

ExpatsBlog  http://www.expatsblog.com

Easy Expat/Blog Expat  http://www.blogexpat.com/en/index.htm

​Favorite expat blogs  http://www.expatjoy.com/expat-blogs-30-blogs-counting/

Expat Books

These are lists of books with an expat focus, both fiction and non-fiction.

http://www.atlasandboots.com/best-selling-expat-books-2015/

https://www.goodreads.com/list/show/3032.Best_Books_for_Expatriates

https://www.goodreads.com/list/show/97686.Expatriate_Resources

https://www.expatinfodesk.com/expat-guide/resources/books

http://www.expatfocus.com/c/aid=3161/expat-books/international/recommended-reading-ten-books-for-new-expats/

http://www.expatnest.com/top-10-expat-books-2016/

http://www.expatarrivals.com/article/expat-book-reviews

Other Expat Reading (magazines, newspapers)

Telegraph Expat  http://www.telegraph.co.uk/expat/

Global Living Magazine  http://globallivingmagazine.com

Relocate Magazine  https://www.relocatemagazine.com/

Expat Networks/Communities

Families in Global Transition  http://www.figt.org

Internations  http://www.internations.org

Expat Network  https://www.expatnetwork.com/

What Expats Can Do  http://whatexpatscando.com

Expat Meetups

http://expat.meetup.com (1,905 Meetup groups worldwide, with 1.1 million members in 530 cities and 70 countries).

Expat Coaching/Counseling

ExpatNest  http://www.expatnest.com

World Tree Coaching  https://www.worldtreecoaching.com/

Sea Change Mentoring  http://seachangementoring.com/

​Sites That Focus on Expat Women

Expat Woman  http://www.expatwoman.com

Expatclic  http://www.expatclic.com

Podcasts with an Expat Focus

As Told By Nomads  http://tayorockson.com/podcast

The BitterSweet Life  http://www.thebittersweetlife.net

Tandem Nomads  http://tandemnomads.com

The Mindful Expat  http://www.dananelsoncounseling.com/mindful-expat-podcast/